Strike Zone………..(from a previous post)

So again I’m watching a few
games on Mlb.tv last night
and the home plate umpire is calling in my opinion a strange
strike zone. Pitches in and out off the plate by 4-6 inches are consistently
being called strikes.

Now I know that most purists will say, “at least he’s
consistent.”

I disagree. Just because someone is consistent does not make
it right. If I screw up at work everyday, but I’m consistent about it that just
means I need to work at bettering myself at my job. Or I’ll be consistently
looking for a new line of work. Yes? Makes some good sense doesn’t it? Oh, not
a good analogy? Well then take a major

League baseball player for example. He goes up to bat about
3-5 times a game. He consistently strikes out. Lookout AAA ball. Sounds fair to
me.

17 inches not 18, not 19.

17 inches.

 

 I think they need to
do something about the umpires who are calling balls and strikes behind the
plate. Ever look at k-zone or whatever the broadcasting station calls it. It’s
almost embarrassing. Consistent? No, ******!

We are talking about professional hitters who spend a lot of
time honing their craft. Endless hours in the batting cages. Watching videos of
them selves so they can improve their at bats. Basically working hard so they
can do their best at their job. A well paid, usually overpaid job, but a job
nonetheless.

I think we should expect, no demand, nothing less from the
umpire crews.

 

Rule 2.00 – The Strike Zone   (Link)

The Strike Zone is defined as that area over home plate the upper limit of
which is a horizontal line at the midpoint between the top of the shoulders and
the top of the uniform pants, and the lower level is a line at the hollow
beneath the kneecap. The Strike Zone shall be determined from the batter’s
stance as the batter is prepared to swing at a pitched ball.

 

I can understand the discrepancies in the up and down calls as due to the
different heights and stances of individual players. But their must be
consistency in the inside/outside calls. On the black, in or out is a strike.
Anything outside of that is a ball. Period.

A little info on Questec: And how the umpires are doing.

Stadiums using QuesTec

 

And
just in case you were wondering:

What is the approximate salary range for umpires from bottom up through
the Majors?


Professional umpires currently begin their Minor League career at $1,800
per month. At the Major League level, salaries range from approximately $84,000
to $300,000 per year.

That’s enough money to do a pretty close to perfect job don’t you think?

17 inches. Good hitters are counting on it. Ask Bobby Abreu.

Leave a comment